“Hi, My Name is Francesca and I’m a Primark-aholic.”

Hiiii Francesca…

One hell of a thunderstorm woke me up on Friday morning at 2am, which had built up so strongly from all the humidity the day before. The lightning was so strong that my room was whited out for seconds at a time. The windows were literally shaking in their double glazed frames from the strength of the thunder. Okay, semi-literally, it was more my imagination. So, after that wonderful alarm clock and I was wide awake way before my meeting at the bank at eleven. Not that it mattered, as the bank meeting was not successful in any sense of the word. I needed a proof of address to open an account, and in SA I used a parent’s bill because I’m not paying any utility bills, suprisingly enough. Here, on the other hand, our helpful banker seemed surprised that I didn’t have an endless supply of utility bills or a mortgage (because all 18 year olds have one of those), and kept asking me if I was on the voters roll, or whether I was sure that I was under 18 because if so she could accept a parent or guardian’s proof of address. I wasn’t really sure what I was supposed to say, when she was looking at my passport while asking the question. So that was successful.

For a pick-me-up after that great debacle we took the train to Harrow to find some shops. As you leave the station you are faced with the St Ann’s shopping centre, and there on the side of the building in those beautiful baby blue letter is the motherland, Primark.

I actually have a very real, very bad problem where Primark is concerned.

The actual plan was to go and pick up some pajamas, because I managed to pack an entire one pair of pj pants, and that is all, but that didn’t really go as planned. Are you seeing a pattern here?

I ran around and picked up, I think, half of the shop. I had both hands dragged down with hangers and I was pulling out all different colours in the same style shirt, and I hadn’t even reached the pajama section upstairs yet. I then discovered that the fitting room had a 8 item max limit, so I had to cut down a bit a lot. Eventually, I bought a few things, and I was quite proud of myself for not spending every single penny in my purse. The easiest way to put things down was the reminder that I have several more months to buy even more things from Primark, and there is no doubt that I will.

IMG_2665 

Sneak peak at things from Primark…

IMG_2689

IMG_2666

 

IMG_2667

Working on first drafts for posts outside.

 

IMG_2688

How cute are these?!

 

IMG_2694

Fish and Chips to end the day, perfectly British.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Vickie Smith says:

    Don’t worry too much about the Primark “thing” you WILL learn to get over it – we’ve all been there so you’re not alone!

    Like

  2. AudFern says:

    Hey, great post! I’m Audrey and I’m very interested in fashion and style. I think you would enjoy my posts; I would really appreciate a follow back! Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

