Mini Review | Hesitant Alien – Gerard Way

  If you’d been here for a while you might remember me raving about Gerard Way in my Reading Festival post from Day One and how it was a defining moment in my life etc etc. Well, his album Hesitant Alien was released on the 29th of September and because of the amazing notion of preordering on Amazon I had my copy on the 30th. Unfortunately I got the email to say that it had been delivered while I was sitting at work, so knowing that it was just sitting there in the postbox all day when I could have been listening to it drove me a little insane. But still.

263_3465

It has been really interesting to listen to, because the songs are vaguely familiar, after hearing them at Reading (when they hadn’t been released yet and so no one knew the words) and also really amazing to listen to. I am extremely biased of course, being a massive fan, but I genuinely love the album. Of course the majority of the sales will have been massive My Chemical Romance fans looking for another bit of the band to hold onto, and refreshingly it isn’t anything like MCR – it’s heavily inspired by Britpop and has a unique feel to it. It’s nice to know that he isn’t trying to just to repeat what has been done before – though that isn’t really his style, I mean look at all the eras of MCR – and it’s good to hear his own sound. The songs are mostly upbeat and catchy and give an amazing exhibition of his voice. It’s more personal, and you can see that the break between the break up and this new album have done something good for him – Gerard is so much more active on things like twitter and interviews, and is excited about the future, something that was missing in past years.

In general, I love the album art, love the songs – notably the singles Action Cat and No Shows, and my favorites Millions and Drugstore Perfume – and well, everything about it. There’s a good interview here with Gerard about the album, if you want to read more. (10/10 of course)

263_3467

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Hola! I’ve been following your website for a long time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Huffman Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep up the excellent work!

    Like

    1. Francesca says:

      Hi there! Thanks for the comment – dont be afraid to comment, i love reading them, so it means a lot to me when you do 🙂 Thanks for your lovely words and I hope you continue to enjoy x

      Like

Leave a Reply

