Birthday!

Firstly, I did not realise how long it had been since I posted until I came to write this one. I’ve been busy okay!

263_3618

This is my first post as a 19 year old – it was my birthday on the 13th (Monday) and I had a pretty good day. It was difficult to be here while everyone else was back home in SA, but it was still pretty good. It wasn’t the typical party all night 19th birthday but I’m pretty sure that I can make up for that another time! It was really special for me because my grandfather and I share a birthday, and so I got to spend it with him for the first time in 8 years – so that was something that was really important for me.

The day before my birthday I went out to lunch with my grandparents, my uncle, aunt and little cousin who you might remember from some other posts (like here). I had such a nice time, such good food and I had so much fun messing around with Ben with the balloons on the table.

One of my birthday presents was to go and see Wicked – the musical, up in London, on my birthday, and it was amazing. What was not amazing was getting to London. Firstly it decided to rain. I like winter and all – but not on my birthday, I mean come on. Then, the station car park was blocked off with police cars so we had to park far away and walked through said rain. Then, just to top it off there were literally no trains running to where we had to get to – we had to change trains I don’t even know how many times, and we were late for our dinner reservation. Thanks world.

We went out for dinner before the show at this tiny little, family run Italian restaurant right near the theatre – so I had some pretty great food: bruschetta, pasta and tiramasu. I’ve always wanted to see Wicked, and maybe I did only know the one song because of Glee  but it was still amazing. It’s such a well written musical in my opinion – but nothing like what I was expecting. In case you didn’t know it’s basically the witches side of the story from the Wizard of Oz, and it has some great little explanations about the Tin Man and the Scarecrow, and some really funny lines. The foyer was lit up in green and they served drinks in Wicked branded cups (I have one, they are so niiice!) and the whole atmosphere was all really fitting.The songs were all really catchy, and I don’t want to give away any spoilers , so I’ll just leave with the fact that it is awesome, and just go and see it yourself!

263_3589

263_3582

263_3585

263_3584

 

So that was sort of my birthday. I got some really nice things, and I had a really good day. To be honest being 19 is kind of no different to being 18. When I left school I felt like at age 18, I was basically invincible and an adult and amazing. That is, until I started working and realised that I was the youngest there by several years. It was also through working that I realised that the age gap stops becoming so important when you leave school. You know how in school you wouldn’t talk to a grade 1o when you were grade 11, because lyk omg they were so lame. But then I found myself working with, and being sort of friends with people older than me and the age difference didn’t matter – except if I got teased for being only 18. So it does feel a little bit cool to be 19 – not really a baby straight out of high school anymore.

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

