NaNoWriMo 2014

Today I want to talk about something that I really love. This is one of those things that you can just ramble on about for paragraphs and so I’ll try and keep it short.

I stumbled across NaNoWriMo two years ago by accident, I don’t actually even remember how, but ever since then I’ve been sort of addicted. NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month, and it was started quite a while ago in America, but it’s now a global programme. It is exactly what it says on the tin – you pledge to write a novel, or 50 000 words, in one month – November. That’s the idea anyway, because I’ve never quite made it there before. I love to write, and I have written 50 000 words (and a bit more) on a novel of my own (not in one month though) and many other half finished stories. NaNo is there to give you a push towards your goal, because if you don’t make it then you have the follow up Camp NaNoWriMo’s in April and July where you can finish your NaNo novel or write something else – this time with your own word count: I’m a lot better at Camp NaNo’s for that reason.

It’s a really good environment to write in, because of all the encouragement that you get. There are tweets, hourly sprinting word challenges, forums, regional groups and emails from authors to give you tips on what you can do to make your novel better. You start believing that maybe you could actually write that many words in 30 days – and there are people who do, and exceed that target by thousands of words. There is one catch though – you can’t edit. You can’t go back and change things, or correct typos or delete words, you’re only allowed to write. It’s quite difficult for me, because I don’t write in a straight line, but more in a cracked tetrahedron or something – going back and forth between beginning and end, and that’s why I never finish. You input your word count daily, and get little charts to show your progress which is kind of motivating – unless you’re really falling behind.

I just thought I’d share this with you, because it’s kind of important to me, and if one more person finds out about NaNo and pledges to write, then maybe I’ve done something right. You see, 50 000 words isn’t too much when you break it down to 1 667 words a day. If you want to join, there’s still time and the link to the website is here. I’m going to be taking part again this November – so lets see how far I get!

 

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Rajiv says:

    Am going to do it this year

    Like

    1. Francesca says:

      Great! I hope it goes well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

