Christmas Gift Guide #2 | Snapfish*

  Are you starting to look for something to give that person you can never find anything for because they are impossible to buy for for Christmas? Me too. That’s why I’ve started to create this Christmas Gift Guide for unique gift ideas. Here’s number 2!

263_4158

 Continuing with my Christmas Gift Guide, I came across Snapfish UK on a great website that connects bloggers, and they kindly gave me the opportunity to try out their services. Snapfish (by HP) is a website that allows you to upload your own photos and transform them into personalised gifts and stationary. It’s free to upload the photos, and you get 20 free photo prints with your first upload (bonus!). I always love being able to give something that is very personal, or a one off – as I think most people do – and Snapfish gives you a wide range of ways to make something personal and unique. I designed a calender, notebook, photobook and poster – to give you an idea of the different looks you can create as well as the quality of the products themselves. Other items for personalisation were mugs, coasters, magnets, cards, canvas prints, acrylic prints, stationary and normal photo prints.

I found that the website was really easy to use, and there was a lot of choice within each section with a large range of sizes and themes for all of the products. There were also integrated layouts to make your designs look professional, and the facilities to remove red eye from photos, as well as other photo editing services that you could use even while you were moving things around in your final design – which I felt was a really nice touch.

The prices on both the products themselves and the postage and packing were really good value for the service that I recieved. The orders were processed seperately and mailed within a few days of me placing the order. I thought I’d show you the packaging that they came in, to show you how well they travelled. All of the envelopes were padded, and none of my products were damaged or bent.

263_4148

 

263_4149 

This is the April page of the personalised photo calender that I made. I chose the nautical theme, which is very simple, because I had a variety of photo’s from my time here in the UK so I didn’t want it to be too busy, but there were plenty of patterns and colours for any occaision – a personal favorite was the chalkboard calender theme. There were some great layouts to make sure your months looked neat, and you coulf add captions and text to each month as well. My favorite feature was the fact that you can add photos and personalised dates into the calender (example of my birthday below), which adds another personal edge to the calender because you can add wedding anniversaries, birthdays, holidays and other special days for your family to it. The quality of the calender is beautiful, and it looks really professional. This size is the 11″ by 8.5″ and it would cost £14.99, and there are also bigger sizes and smaller kitchen and desk calenders in the same range.

263_4150 

263_4151 

This is favorite discovery of the website, the collage notebooks. I made two, as you can see, choosing one each of lined and blank to see the difference. The one notebook features pictures from my travels here, and the other has photos of my family – an easy present – which I made using another really good feature which allows you to take photos straight from Facebook onto the site. The notebooks are also customisable inside, which I did here with some contact details – but this could be a personal note to the person who’s gift you were giving it to. All of the notebooks, which included all the other themes and designs, are £5.99.

263_4152 263_4154 

If I had all the money in the world I would spend it all on the photobooks from Snapfish. These came in sizes ranging from huge 15.5×11.5 hardback books to tiny 3×2 photobooklets, so these were the products where the price range was the most dramatic (£2.99-£42.99) but they all, again come with the ability to customised to death. I chose to make a small 6×4 layflat book (£5.99)to get a feel for what it would look like. I love the lay flat aspect, as it means that you can place photos across a double page spread and not lose half of the picture. These books also came with a range of themes and layouts (my favorite layout is the scrapbook one, as seen in the picture below) and also a few basic free embellishments like the swirlling design in the photo below, though these were mainly themed clipart style pieces for weddings or baby books, as well as text boxes to add comments and captions. Again, the quality is what really got me, and the ability to personalise everything from the writing on the spine of the book, back and front covers and the backgrounds of each page. I am in love with these photobooks, and it makes the perfect gift to remember a holiday, celebrate a wedding or general family photos. They even do some tutorials for photobooks to give you ideas!

263_4155 263_4156  

 Lastly, I wanted to try something from their wall art section so I made a collage poster using photos that I took on my Shoreditch Street Art Tour . I chose a glossy finish, but there was also a matte option. You can choose up to 30 individual photos to create the collage with, and change the gaps between the photos and the individual photo sizes. This could have taken me hours, being a little bit of a perfectionist regarding order and placement so I was a little relieved to see a ‘shuffle photos’ option, which created different variations of the photos that I chose for me – very grateful. These can also be calenders, which I thought was a really nice idea to make the poster have a practical use. The Photo Posters start at £3.99 – bargin!

263_4157

Like I said before, I was extremely impressed with the whole Snapfish experience, from the quick uploads and easy customisation to the fast delivery and packaging – so if you’re looking for a unique and very personal present for that difficult to buy for person this year, here’s your website!

Incase you didn’t get the links within the paragraphs  here are the links for Snapfish, the calenders, notebooks, photobooks and posters.

The first part of my Christmas Gift Guide is here: #1 TIGER

Do you have any ideas for Christmas gifts yet? If you have any foolproof Christmas gifts that you always have handy, let me know in the comments or tweet them to me at @Francesca_Sleet!

3 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

