Reflections 2014/2015

263_4125

Happy 2015 Everyone!

I didn’t want to do yet another ‘2014 Favourites’ or ‘New Years Resolutions’ post, because there are hundreds of them all over the internet right now. So I decided instead to just do a quick look back at the things I am most proud of from 2014 and the things that I am most looking forward to this year. I’m also throwing in a few New Years Bloglutions for The Girl Who Had Wanderlust.

What Happened in 2014

1. The Girl Who Had Wanderlust

Screen Shot 2015-01-04 at 17.09.02

I couldn’t really leave this one off the list, because it’s one of the biggest things that I’m proud of from 2014. I have wanted to start something like this for a really long time, but I never had enough inspiration for what to write about or enough time to create something that I was proud of. So, yes, I’m really proud of The Girl Who Had Wanderlust and what it has grown to become. I had to learn some basic coding to create those cute little social media icons in the side bar, and I read hundreds of posts from other bloggers about growing a blog. I worked hard on creating a Twitter profile that I loved, built up my Pinterest and Tumblr following, created a (somewhat inactive) Facebook page and even got Google+ (though I’m still not 100% sure what it does) – and got really good at shameless self advertising.

I’m proud of all the photographs, and the way that I don’t feel afraid about what people might think of my writing or writing style. I love having a blog, and feeling a part of a greater internet community – something that I hope will continue to grow this year. Thanks to everyone who has been along for the ride, whether you’ve been here since the first day or since today.

2. Travelling Overseas by Myself

263_3213

This was, of course, a massive part of this year. I spent five months travelling around England, France and Germany. I went to Reading Festival, saw some incredible art exhibitions, walked a lot, saw some amazing plays, some beautiful Christmas lights and learned a lot about myself.

I saw some incredible things and I learned to be a lot more independent. I worked in foreign city that became a second home again and I was exposed to some amazing things that I wouldn’t have been able to see if I hadn’t had this opportunity and I am so grateful that I had this chance.

3. Getting a Job (That I Actually Enjoy)

100_6271

This is quite important to me, because I had a really horrible waitressing job before my current job at the Wine Studio and I hated waking up every morning because I knew that I had to go to a place that I hated. Now I look forward to days that I have work.

4. I Grew Up A Lot

100_4718

Walking around foreign places and getting lost in countries where you don’t know the language (Germany!), learning train maps, working in an office in London and managing your own money does that to you – but I’m okay with that. I’m proud of the changes and decisions that I have made this year.

The Year Ahead

I’m excited about 2015 and what it has in store.

  • This year I am going to be starting my first year at university studying Visual Communication in Advertising and Graphic Design, which I am super excited about.
  • I might actually get around to getting my driving license this year – something that my parents will probably be extremely happy about.
  • I’m going to be continuing with The Girl Who Had Wanderlust, and I have so many things in the pipeline that I am extremely excited about.

As you can see I don’t like to plan too much ahead, as those are really my main plans for the year, but I do (as I said above) have a lot of plans for The Girl Who Had Wanderlust and I thought that I’d give you a little preview of some of the things that are going to be cropping up on here in the future: monthly favourites posts, monthly music playlists and book reviews, food and drink recipes as well as plenty of looks into places in my home town and on my travels – as well as some exciting things that I can’t announce yet!

Make sure that you are following me on my social media for exclusive updates on upcoming projects, and I look forward to sharing 2015 with you

xXx

Facebook | Twitter | Bloglovin | Pinterest | Tumblr

263_3457

2 Comments Add yours

  1. My minor is graphic design! I hope you enjoy it as much as I have!

    Like

    1. Francesca says:

      Thanks! I’m really looking forward to it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

