Bleached Hair Care | Beauty Thursdays

 

 

hair quote 2

If you’ve been around for a while you’ll remember that in October last year I decided to take a big step and bleach my hair. I was extremely happy to finally do something for myself and I’m still happy with my decision. If you’re thinking about bleaching your hair, or maybe you have already, you have to take into account that it is a lot of work to take care of your hair afterwards.

My hair was particularly difficult to bleach for some reason, and so I had to bleach it several times over a few weeks to get it as pale as I wanted it to be. This, of course, isn’t ideal. You should aim to only touch up your bleach every 4 to 6 weeks (even if your hair grows really fast like mine and the roots start looking awful), otherwise it can really permanently damage your hair. Luckily, because I had never died my hair before, and because I’ve been using a treatment mask about once a week, my hair hasn’t dried out too much. The only thing that I have noticed is that my hair gets extremely dry if I don’t wash it everyday. This isn’t that much of a big deal for me because my hair is naturally very dry anyway, but I used to be able to just about get away with two days before washing it. I used the Bleach London Total Bleach Kit to bleach my hair the first time, but since then I also trialled the Garnier Truly Blonde lightener (not a fan) and then discovered the Schwarzkopf LIVE Color XXL in 00B Max Blonde which I absolutely love. It’s quite strong, at about 6-8 shades of lightening, but my hair just doesn’t bleach. I think that the best thing, if your hair hasn’t been touched by any kind of dye, is to try out a few until you find one that works for you.

263_3595

Another big thing is toner and silver shampoo and conditioner. I used a white toner after I’d bleached my hair the first time, and it didn’t really do much in my opinion, but I have heard general good things about other people who use toner. From what I can gather the Manic Panic Virgin Snow white toner is the best one, if you can get your hands on it. I don’t use a toner, and I haven’t really needed to, and I think it might be that my hair was light enough to begin with. I do, however, use a silver shampoo and conditioner which has changed my hair for the better. The Bleach London Total Bleach Kit recommended getting their Silver Shampoo and Conditioner to follow up the bleaching with, and because I do believe there was a special on hair care at the time (Bargain Betty right here) I picked them up, because I didn’t know how my hair was going to react. I am so glad I did. They changed the slightly yellow colour of my hair into a really white white in a few washes. I use it every day or every other day. I actually just finished the Bleach ones (the bottles are deceptively small, and they last for ages) and had to go looking for an alternative here in SA. I don’t know if it’s the different chemicals in the South African water but my hair is a lot more yellow here than it was in Europe, and I’m having trouble keeping it as white as I would like it.

263_3597

263_3598

The best part of having bleached hair is what you can do with it! Because it’s so light I can easily put colour into it without worrying about how the colour will come out. Before I left the UK I picked up two of the Bleach Super Cool wash out colours to experiment with – the Rosé and Violet Skies. I love that they are only semi-permanent, so I can change them around – and again there is a deceptively large amount of product in those tiny bottles.

Timeline of how my hair has changed – from the really light blonde of my baby years to the white/colour version of today (I’m wearing Bleach’s Rosé in the last photo):

hair2 hair 3     263_3605


100_4720 pp

 

Are you planning on doing something different with your hair? Let me know in the comments x

4 Comments Add yours

  1. anonymous says:

    I highly recommend this Bed head shampoo and conditioner! i have dip dye bleached hair and it was so dry and i started using this (pre washing with a cheaper shampoo then using a smaller amount of the shampoo then a regular amount of conditioner) and my hair has gone form being this horrible long tangled mess to really really smooth! i have had this set since beginning of December and still have 7/8th of it left so worth the investment! http://www.feelunique.com/p/TIGI-Bed-Head-Urban-Antidotes-Recovery-Gift-Set-52793

    Like

    1. Francesca says:

      Thanks for the recommendation! I might have to check this out Xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

