Raspberry Mojitos | Cocktail Wednesdays

100_6544 I love cocktails so much, but I don’t drink them as much as I wish I could. If I go out into Stellenbosch I’m much more likely to get wine or cider or some sort of spirit mix, because a cocktail isn’t something that you normally pick up quickly at a bar – and the umbrellas and straws don’t make it the easiest thing to dance with either. If I have a cocktail it’s probably when I’m sitting with friends and just chilling – and I think that’s probably why I love them so much. I thought that I would give making some cocktails a go at home, and after trawling Pinterest for hours (big surprise) I found (amongst the thousands) one that sounded and looked really good – and also really simple for a novice mixer like me. This is the perfect cocktail for summer!

And so, without further ado, the Raspberry Mojito (The Girl Who Had Wanderlust Style).

You Will Need:

100_6527

Raspberries (I used frozen ones from Hillcrest, but fresh will work exactly the same)

Sugar (only 2 tsp, just to sweeten it a little)

Fresh Mint (I used Allée Bleue’s fresh herbs)

Lemon or Lime Juice

Sparkling Water

Ice

and

White Rum (I used Bacardi)

Method:

(Okay, so I’ll be honest, my methods were a little bit of guesswork because Pinterest didn’t give me any specifics so I made it how I thought it work best – the amounts that I’m giving make about two cocktails.)

First get something to mix your ingredients in (I used a cocktail mixer), and put in about 6 ice cubes.

100_6528

Then add your sugar, raspberries, a few sprigs of mint and a shot of rum (depending on your own taste preference).

100_6530 100_6524 100_6532

Shake it up, shake it up!

100_6531

Strain the mixture into glasses and top up with sparkling water, and add some whole raspberries and fresh mint.

100_6533

Viola!

*sidenote: the mixture left in the shaker can be blended together to make an awesome sorbet style sauce that you can add straight into the cocktail, and tastes amazing!

 

 

       100_6539

100_6540

100_6545

 

Is this something you would drink? Or do you have a favourite cocktail? Let me know in the comments or tweet your favourite recipes to me @Francesca_Sleet

xXx

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Raspberries in cocktails are simply divine! This looks lovely.

    Like

    1. Francesca says:

      Thanks, it’s so perfect for hot weather!

      Like

Leave a Reply

