January Favourites

It’s February, and that means we get to look back at all of my favourite things from January. I’ve decided to split my favourite things into categories so that I don’t ramble on. So lets look at my favourite discoveries of the month.

EAT

Chiabites-320x249

source

Fry’s Quinoa, Chia and Black Bean Bites – I discovered these a few weeks ago, and bought them on a whim. They are so good! I would recommend eating them with a good dipping sauce – I used a mixture of mayonnaise and an amazing spicy prego sauce that we have, which was perfect because they need a little chilli to make them perfect. I feel like I should throw a little love out to the Fry’s Family because I love all of their food. This isn’t a sponsored shout out, I just genuinely enjoy all of their vegetarian/vegan food that I’ve tried so far – apart from the Quinoa bites, I would recommend the Meat Free Pops, the Chicken Style Burgers and the Thick Cut Chunky Strips (amazing in wraps).

DRINK

Muratie-Lourens-Campher

source

Muratie Wine’s Laurens Campher 2013 – I discovered this wine at one of the Stellenbosch Street Soirees’ and I have fallen in love with it. It’s a white blend of blend of 41% Chenin Blanc, 25% Verdehlo, 18% Viognier and 16% Sauvignon Blanc. Muratie describes the taste as “On the palate, the wine is elegant and complex with flavours of honeysuckle, lime marmalade and fresh almonds, all wrapped in creamy oak” but in English (as apposed to wine tasting notes) it’s a beautifully smooth and floral wine. Definitely my favourite drink of the month – and I spent this weekend at the Stellenbosch Wine Festival, so I tasted a lot!

WEAR

100_6570

This month I have been loving my MUA Undress Me Too Palette to wear on my eyes. I spoke about my love for this palette in my last Beauty Thursdays post, beauty for hot climates. This month I have become obsessed with using the shades Sky and Dreamy on my eyes every single day this month – a look I’m going to be posting about very soon.

VISIT 

wine fest

Stellenbosch Wine Festival – this month on the 30th, 31st and 1st of January/February Stellenbosch, where I live held its annual wine festival at the fields in Coetzenberg. It showcases so many wines from the whole Stellenbosch wine region and after you buy the ticket you have unlimited wine tasting for that day of the festival, as well as live music and great food. This year was the first time I worked at the wine festival (with my work Brampton Wine Studio) instead of just visiting the festival. It’s one of my favourite events of the year.

LOVE

100_6545

 

The Raspberry Mojitos from my first Cocktail Wednesday! They were just so good that I’ve made them several more times since then. I’ve changed the quantities a few times now, and learned that by blending everything a lot finer the taste is intensified. I need more cocktail ideas so if you have any favourites please let me know in the comments!

And that’s what I’ve been loving this month, what are you favourite things from January?

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I have it too, I used all of the colour of the forth along on the bottom row 😖

    Like

  2. Love that eye shadow 😍

    Like

    1. Francesca says:

      Thanks! It’s my favourite palette – such amazing colours 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

