The 100 Hue Colour Test

100 hues

source

I came across the 100 Hue Test when I was scrolling through my tumblr the other day, and I found it very interesting. Did you know that 1 out of every 255 women, and 1 in every 12 men have some kind of colour vision deficiency? 1 in every 255 doesn’t sound too many, but 1 in 12 is quite a lot. I found a link to an online colour challenge, which tests your ability to detect colours.

It is basically an online Farnsworth Munsell 100 Hue Colour Test – which is a test of the human vision system, and is also often used to test colour blindness. It has you place a total of 100 hues of colour, broken into four lots of 25 hues, and helps determine where your eyes find it difficult to detect differences in colour. The test looks something like this:

100 Hue Test

And by the end of the test, if done correctly, it should look like this:

Screenshot 2015-02-22 14.59.25

It’s a very strange experience because at first it looks like it will be easy but once the hues that similar are next to one another they all start to look the same. I found it rather easy, but I think I just work with colour a lot doing art and so I scored (amazingly) a perfect ZERO. My dad did it as well, on my laptop and got the score of 21, which was weird because I didn’t see that much difference – which shows how small the differences between the colours are. In this test, the lower the score, the better the result. The link to the test is here if you would like to try it out for yourself!

Let me know what your scores are in the comments below!

xXx

Leave a Reply

