Midweek Escape Pina Colada | Cocktail Wednesdays

100_6812

Welcome back to Cocktail Wednesdays! 

Sorry that there was a little break in the cocktails but I was very busy lately and I didn’t have time to make cocktails that I was proud enough of. So I decided to hold off until this week, and I’ve come back with a good one – and it’s not pink!

Sometimes we have super stressful weeks and we need a little break, and what better way to feel like we’re taking a little holiday than something tropical – like a Piña Colada!

This is quite a light version as an original Piña Colada contains cream of coconut – but since I can’t stomach drinks that are too creamy, I decided to lighten it up a little.

100_6799

You Will Need:

Bacardi White Rum

 (you could also use Malibu coconut rum if you want more of a coconut taste)

Pineapple

Coconut Milk

Ice

100_6805

Method:

Cut up your pineapple – I feel that fresh pineapple really makes this drink but you could use pineapple juice or even canned pineapple. The easiest way to cut a pineapple is to cut off the top and bottom, shave off the sides and then slice into rings!

100_6825

100_6826

Then put a handful of pineapple, a generous amount of coconut milk, a double shot of rum and a few ice cubes into a blender. (I’m not the most accurate person in the world, because experimenting is key – the best things happen by accident, and also I’m kind of just way too lazy to measure. It’s all down to your own tastes.)

100_6809

100_6827

Blend it up until it is extremely smooth, then pour into glasses. You can add a piece of pineapple to the edge and even a fancy paper sun (if you’re cool like me) – and then drink! I would advise adding something to stir this up with occasionally because it does tend to form a layer of coconut milk foam if it stands too long.

100_6803

100_6830

Enjoy!

If you give this recipe a try, tweet me a picture at @Francesca_Sleet or tell me about it in the comments!

 

 

Pina Colada

 

source

Leave a Reply

