“Melbourne Mule” | Cocktail Wednesdays

  Welcome back to Cocktail Wednesdays!

I’m back, and it’s something a little different and it’s not a red drink either. I saw a version of this cocktail on Pinterest and found another one on Drizzle and Dip and it sounded amazing. I decided to give it a try this last weekend, and I really love it. I think that it’s my favourite recipe so far!

Melbourne Mule

A “Mule” is a type of cocktail that includes ginger beer or ginger ale and some kind base liquor. As Sam from Drizzle and Dip says in her post, it is difficult to find a origin for where the ‘Melbourne’ part of the name comes from, but basically a Melbourne Mule is a cocktail involving kiwi fruit and ginger beer.

What You Will Need:

White Rum

1 Kiwi Fruit (per serving)

Ginger Beer

Lemon Juice (optional)

Bitters (optional)

100_7195

Method:

First peel and cut up your kiwi fruit and muddle it in the bottom of your glass (or jam jar – as you can see I’m going for a very Tumblr aesthetic here). Muddling is basically the process of gently creating a pulp from your fruit – and if you don’t have a proper muddler you can use a pestle or even the back of a wooden spoon (which is what I used). Try and get it as smooth as possible.

100_7198

100_7199

 Note my great decision to make cocktails when the lighting is terrible, and the consequential super hipster outdoor photos.

Next add ice, white rum and any other ingredients you might want to a cocktail shaker and shake them all up.

100_7200

Pour this mix into the muddled kiwi and top up with ginger beer and more ice if needed.

I found this super refreshing and really tasty! I’m definitely going to be making this again, and I can’t wait to add a few little twists – I’m thinking about putting some lavender in the cocktail or even cucumber slices? What do you think?

Enjoy!

melbourne mule3

100_7203

Melbourne Mule2

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

