Let’s Talk About Inspiration

on

This was going to be a Tips for Tuesdays post, but I found that I had a little more problems that solutions with this topic, so instead here’s a little Chatty Mondays post.

inspiration 6

Sometimes you’re full of inspiration. So much inspiration that it feels like your head is so full of ideas that you feel like you don’t have enough days in your life to get all of that creativity into the world. You write lists of blog posts you want to write, sketch designs for projects, draw and paint, make notes and write drafts for hours. A few weeks ago I was in the middle of a massive pool of this inspiration – I had ideas coming out of my ears and a “Blog Post Ideas” list the length of Africa. I was so excited about everything, and couldn’t write down all my ideas fast enough.

inspiration1

And then sometimes you have no inspiration at all. You have no motivation, all your ideas seem like too much effort to achieve, and all your projects seem unrealistic. The biggest problem with this, for me at least, is that you still have the ideas, and the means to create, your mind just can’t stay focussed on how it can actually be creative. You get lost in the endless cycle of being mildly inspired and starting something but then finding that your brain doesn’t have the inspiration and drive to finish it.

inspiration 2

This is why I have about 20 posts in my drafts folder, and zero posts published.

I spoke about this a little bit in my catch up post a little while ago, about how I didn’t want to post something just for the sake of posting something. I don’t believe in forcing creativity, and I don’t want to post something that I’m going to go back to tomorrow and hate. That’s why I haven’t been posting regularly, and I do apologise for that. I just hope that you can understand that I wanted to wait until I felt that drive again. The Girl Who Had Wanderlust has always been something that made me excited and proud – I was always looking back over posts, and brainstorming ideas for new ones. I was constantly doing things and thinking this would be such a great thing to blog about. I took photos constantly, and scheduled my social media like a boss. But unfortunately I sometimes fall into periods of not feeling like myself, and these emotions make it very difficult for me to be creative, because often in these times I can’t see the point in anything I make, and I think very negatively about myself and my work. So blogging suddenly seemed like a very scary and time consuming thing, and I was scared that if I forced myself to post it would make me doubt if I should have even started this blog in the first place.

inspiration3

So I didn’t post. I didn’t brainstorm, or take photos, or look at my blog or my emails or anything. I gave myself a little bit of time to let the creativity come back on its own.

inspiration4

I think if I have one suggestion, for if you’ve fallen into a rut or are suffering from writers block, bloggers block, or just a lack of inspiration, it would be just to let it come back in its own time. Don’t force yourself to be creative if you aren’t feeling like it. Leave whatever it is alone and then approach it from a different angle. If you go back to it just a little bit at a time it won’t seem so overwhelming. I took out my sketchbook again last week and just let myself draw. It wasn’t very good to begin with because I was impatient, but eventually it all came back and my grip on the pen relaxed and slowly that urge to create came back. And that’s why I’m writing this. I’ve been trying to finish this post since Saturday, and I finally found myself falling back into that rhythm where the words just come out exactly how I want them to. And if it doesn’t all make grammatical or literal sense, give me a little bit of leeway – I’m just trying to write what I’m feeling. And I hope you can see that.

inspiration5

I have a lot of ideas on my to-do list that I can’t wait to get started with, so look out for posts coming very soon. I’m going to start slowly, and build it up even bigger than it was before – I have a lot of plans that I’m hoping to implement soon, and I’m actually excited to do them now, so stay tuned for some changes, for the better.

I hope that you all have a great week!

Francesca

xXx

Leave a Reply

