Let’s Talk About Decisions

You might have seen in yesterday’s #5 Things Lately post that I have a lot of decisions to make about university, and I think that one of the most important decisions we have to make in life is what we do after high school. Decisions are not my strong point, so I thought that they should be the topic of this week’s Chatty Monday. I realised after I finished writing this that it is a very personal rambling post today, so please enjoy my blabbing on about decisions, and leave any comments you have below – I love to hear what you guys have to say.

decisions 2

We spend so much time in high school wishing that we were done and that we were out in the real world, living our real adult lives, but then in the last year we suddenly realise that the real world is a real thing that we have to deal with. We have to pick a university, and a course to study that will inevitably lead to what job we get and what we do with our lives.

As you come towards the end of school you have a big decision to make – what are you going to do?

If you’re not feeling up to university straight away, or you want to take a little break before studying again, there is always the option of a gap year. I’ve written a whole post about choosing to take a gap year, so I won’t go into too much detail here. A gap year is a really awesome thing to do, even though I might be a little bit biased, but I think that taking a break from studying and work is good for you. You can experience the real world, get some work experience and learn a little bit more about yourself in the process.

Some people aren’t suited a break from studying, and that’s okay too. So another option is to go straight into university and work towards your degree.

Of course there are hundreds of other options, like studying at home through a program like UNISA or going to a college, or starting to work straight away at a company or even going into the army. Making this decision is not always going to be easy. Some people have the luck to know what they want to do, and so the decision is easy, but for most of us there are many weeks and months of decision making ahead.

I took a gap year, and then I thought I knew what course I wanted to take, but then realised that it might not be the one for me – so I decided to defer for a year to work out what I really want to do. This year I have been working to save money for next year, and through talking to a lot of my friends who are studying I have decided to apply for a BA Humanities degree at Stellenbosch University, and I am really excited. I decided to do a degree that leaves me with lots of options to continue into different fields of study for Honours and I can take lots of subjects that interest me. I tend to change my mind a lot, and I fear having to commit to something, so a degree of this type will suit me – and also the subjects that I can take will things that I enjoy learning about and will stretch my mental abilities.

Even though two years ago if you had told me that I would be taking two gap years and then studying something that isn’t in the creative field, I probably would have laughed at you. The thing is that your feelings change, and sometimes what you thought you might be doing with your life might not be what is good for you. I think that I will still probably end up in a creative career, but this is the degree I really want to do.

decisions1

It took me a while to come to this conclusion, and I’m happy with what I have decided. I have a lot of friends at Stellenbosch University and I can’t wait to join them. I hope that any of you who are having to make this decision are able to come to a conclusion about what you would like to do. If you have gone through this decision making period before, what did you decide to do? Are you happy with your decision?

Let me know in the comments!

xXx

2 Comments Add yours

  1. talyabeyers says:

    So it seems we might be in some of the same classes next year 😉 (I’m doing a BA Language and Culture)

    Like

Leave a Reply

