The Blue Crane & The Butterfly

 Sometimes you find a place that when you walk inside, you feel like you belong there. There will be something about the atmosphere, and the decor, and the people that just makes you feel at home. It also probably won’t hurt if the coffee has been voted best in Stellenbosch, and the food is absolutely amazing…

bluecrane1

For me, this place is The Blue Crane and The Butterfly in Stellenbosch. I am kind of in love with this place. It is partly to do with how much I want to deck out my future flat in their furniture, and partly to do with how amazing there food is. They’re basically a little trendy coffee place that even if you went just to get a drink, you’ll probably end up eating something simply because the display of food is so enticing that you can’t help yourself. The lunch menu is equally as good, changing according to fresh ingredients – featuring salads, soups, savoury tarts and more.

bluecrane2

bluecrane5

bluecrane6

I love their coffee – and I’m a picky coffee drinker – and I love that it’s all roasted on site to make sure that it’s as fresh as possible. The owners are very involved and it makes the whole service seem really personal.

I visited last week (sporting my hectic orange roots, mid bleaching process – I speak about that disaster here) and had some coffee and cake – of course!

bluecrane9

bluecrane4

I tried their Orange and Basil cake, and it was amazing! It was so different – I don’t think I’ve had a cake quite like it. The orange was really strong, but the basil balanced it out enough that it was still an incredibly light and refreshing cake. I’m definitely going to have to find a recipe to make something like that soon!

bluecrane3

bluecrane8

bluecrane7

Loving this place so much, and I saw that they have recently started opening for evening events – which is good to know. It’s a beautiful setting, with really friendly waiters, great coffee and definitely worth a visit if you’re in need a little break next time you’re in town.

Where’s your favourite place to grab a coffee?

xXx

5 Comments Add yours

  1. talyabeyers says:

    I have only been there once and spent a lot of the time staring at that awesome crane art on the wall. It’s just so stunning! When I’m in university, I’m going to be spending a lot of time in coffee shops like this, I hope 🙂

    Like

  2. Nadia says:

    Just so you know, that photo of the croissants ruined my diet. I’m off to go buy a damn croissant right now 😛

    Place looks great – think I’ll stop by next time in Stellies.

    Like

    1. Francesca says:

      Hahaha sorry about that! Croissants are great 🙂 It’s definitely worth a visit! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jennifer says:

    My goodness this place looks amazing. I literally salivated at the site of that lemon cake lol! LOVE little local coffee shops… There’s more attention to detail. Now I just need to book a flight from Fort Lauderdale, Florida to try it 😉

    Xx, Jen
    @jensav11

    Like

    1. Francesca says:

      It’s definitely much more personal when it’s local 🙂 hahaha if you ever come to South Africa you should give Stellenbosch a visit for sure! xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

