The Perfect Under-Makeup Moisturiser

on

It’s been a little while since something made it out of my Beauty Thursday drafts folder, but I’ve had some beautiful lighting for photos so here goes!

  Olay1

If you’ve been reading this for any little length of time you will know that I have a deep and undying love for the Nivea Soft face and body cream, and so it is difficult to admit that there might be another moisturiser that has stolen a little piece of my heart.

Recently, I have begun to notice that my skin was getting to be quite oily in areas, and simultaneously dry in patches and I wasn’t getting much help from my trusty Nivea Soft. As much as I love this cream it is quite a thick consistency and it was leaving a little bit too much of an oily layer on my skin in recent times. Long story short I needed to find a moisturiser that could put up with my skin.

Olay2

Because I have been working a lot more than usual lately, my skin has been under quite a bit of stress due to late nights, long hours and many nights out exposed to smoke and wearing make up for long periods of time. I was after a cream that wouldn’t be too heavy but would still give me the hydration that I need. I picked up the Olay Even and Smooth day cream to give it a try. I’m only just moving into really exploring “proper” skincare products, because I’ve usually just looked at the cheapest and the most basic before, but I have come to realise that my skin is worth some dedication. You guys might remember that I do have an unhealthy addiction to face washes, and I think I might be falling into that problem with face creams as well.

Olay3

I wasn’t expecting anything too incredible from Olay, but I have been really enjoying using this cream under my make up. It sinks into your skin very quickly, and leaves your skin really smooth and perfect to start applying foundation. It also has SPF15 which is always a bonus – I’ve always thought that the one thing Nivea could change would be adding a SPF factor to their Soft cream.

I’ve also just bought another cream from the Body Shop during their sale, so stay tuned to see which one comes out on top!

Have you ever tried an Olay cream? What face creams have you found works for you?

Leave a Reply

