Living With Wanderlust

botanical6

Part of the reason that I have been finding it difficult to keep up with regular posts at the moment is because this blog is a constant reminder of everything I have achieved, and everything that I did while I was travelling. In case you hadn’t already guessed, by the name of this whole blog, I have an overwhelming and incurable case of Wanderlust. This blog is a constant reminder that last year I was travelling, and seeing new places and doing new things and recently that is all that I can think about.

botanical3

Lately, I spend way too much time on airline websites, looking up the prices of flights to pretty much every country going – and if I add one more travel blog to my favourites bar I think even my laptop might look at me like I’m losing it.

botanical4

I am itching to travel more than I ever have in my entire life. It’s all I can think about when I’m at work, when I’m at home, or scrolling through instagram. Everyday I walk the same route to work, and then I go out to the same coffee shops and the same bars at night – and don’t get me wrong, I do love it. I love my job, and I love my friends, and I love my town. I just wish that I could take a little break and just go somewhere completely different.

botanical5

That is the problem with Wanderlust, and I have learnt over the years that it is something that I am probably going to be dealing with for most of my life. I know that I am not going to be satisfied until I have set foot in every country, met every person and tasted every kind of food. And I know that this dream is, in reality, pretty impossible but that’s what I think about. There’s so much to see, and so much to do, and I can feel this inexplicable pull inside my chest telling me just to go – buy a one way ticket somewhere and just explore somewhere that I’ve never been.

botanical 2

Hopefully that day will come soon.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Erin says:

    I can definitely sympathise with you! The problem is that, when you work, you feel like you can’t just LEAVE. Even with vacations and switching shifts and a short trip you still feel guilty. But you need to work! Our world definitely does not accommodate a need for adventure. Plus, for me, the Canadian dollar is doing so poorly everything is that much more expensive, haha.

    Erin
    http://orchidsandtea.blogspot.ca

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Francesca says:

      It is difficult to get away when you’re working full time, which is why I’m hoping to get some of this wanderlust out before I finish this gap year! I hope you can find time to travel! Thanks for the comment x

      Like

Leave a Reply

