Learning To Keep Learning

It can be difficult to remember that our brains need just as much exercise as our bodies, if not more. It is much easier to watch a series than to read a book, and much easier to procrastinate than to research. Especially when you don’t have any obligation to study things, like if you are between studying and work, or between school and university, it can become very easy to fall into a rhythm of not learning anything new.

I noticed myself falling into that pattern, and as someone with an extremely busy mind that never stops moving, this was quite dangerous because my mind didn’t have anything to be distracted by. And so because of this I have decided to try and get my mind to work more.

Recently at work we took over the running of the coffee machine, and so all of us had to learn how to operate it and produce good coffee. It was always a dream of mine to make myself a cappuccino and I am proud to say that I have completed that dream. I got into it fully, researching how to do latte art, and learning more about roasting coffee.

I really have begun to enjoy just researching things in my spare time to increase my general knowledge. If I ever wondered where a phrase came from, or about Plato or mental illnesses or how nervous systems work – I have started to just add them to a list and research them whenever I am bored. Next year I am going to be studying full time, so I will have subjects and tests to fill my brain but at the moment I am just learning how to keep on learning – and I’m really enjoying it.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. somemaid says:

    I love the idea of having a list of things to research and learn about. In fact I’m going to start on now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Francesca says:

      It’s such a nice thing to have – however trivial the thing is, it’s always nice to learn more about it πŸ‘πŸ»

      Like

Leave a Reply

