The Food Lover’s Brunch

Food Lover’s Market. Not your obvious brunch spot really, but when your best friend suggests coffee somewhere, you say yes – despite your initial trepidation.

2015-09-01 11.26.56

Now, I’ve been to Food Lovers before, many times to shop and also to get their smoothies (made to order), because the Breakfast Smoothie is so good it hurts. I have not however been to the little restaurant/cafe/sushi bar that is attached to one we have here in Stellenbosch. A few years ago I worked at a cafe and part of our job was to deliver cakes to Food Lovers on Saturday morning, and I just sort of presumed that it was just a coffee and cake kind of place.

Turns out, I was wrong – very wrong. There is an extensive breakfast menu, as well as lunch, full meals, desserts, coffee and a bunch of alcoholic drinks to boot. I also discovered that they have cheap and apparently pretty good cocktails as well (something to be explored in the future, I think yes).

I was thinking of ordering Eggs Benedict, which is something I have been craving for a while now, but then I read the description for the Haloumi Toast and couldn’t order it fast enough.

2015-09-01 11.39.26

Can we just talk about how great this was? On brown bread we have piled generously, avocado, lettuce, haloumi cheese, roasted baby tomatoes, basil pesto and a poached egg. This is possibly the ultimate brunch food, and I am now trying to figure out who I can convince to go for breakfast somewhere so that I can have this again.

Being the coffee snob that I am I ordered a cappuccino and was really pleasantly surprised. The coffee is sourced from Tribe Coffee Roasting (a favourite of mine), and their latte art was one point as well. Whoever the barista was that day gets a thumbs up from me!

2015-09-01 11.59.56

Their red cappuccinos aren’t too bad either!

With free wifi, a great menu, and good friends, you can’t really go wrong with a visit to Food Lovers – though take note of who your waiter is, they do have a bit of a weird system with runners and people who are just there to check up on you.

Do you have any unusually good coffee spots?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Erin says:

    Everything you’ve described sounds so good! It’s great that you’ve found a new-to-you place, those are always so fun 🙂 It sounds like you had a successful brunch!

    For me, I don’t really consider the places I like to be unusual, they are specifically coffee shops, but many of my friends prefer chains like Starbucks. I prefer small, locally-owned coffee shops. I find them to be so much better!

    Erin
    http://sexycardi.blogspot.ca

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Francesca says:

      Hey Erin! I definitely agree that the smaller, stand alone coffee shops are better than chains! There’s something so much more personal in a place that is run by people working to make their business work and not just supporting a big chain – also the coffee is usually way better 🙂 xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

