DIY Flower Crowns

Rocking The Daisies is 8 days away now, and I am starting to get things done in terms of preparation. I have lists of things to buy and lists of things to pack (unfortunately the list of things to buy is pretty long).

But, to get myself into the festival mood I have been thinking about things to wear – and not just the clothes, but the extras: like flower crowns. I am a big supporter of the flower crown, and I wish that it was more socially acceptable to wear flower crowns every day, something that my boss doesn’t agree with. What I like even more than a good flower crown, is a good flower crown that no one else has. I have wanted to make myself one for such a long time, that for Daisies I decided it was time – so I bought a ton of fake flowers and wire, and this is what happened.

2015-09-19 15.58.32

Firstly, you are going to need the flowers – you can go for real ones, which I think would be incredible, but I need something that is going to last several days, so I went for fake – and here you can go wild. Any colour, shape, size and amount is good – I don’t think that you can really go wrong. You’re also going to need some wire to create the actual crown/headpiece and possibly glue (depending on how easy your flowers are to attach to something). I also recommend that you get some sort of small pliers (I used some little jewellery pliers) so that your fingers don’t get really ruined from the wire!

2015-09-19 15.59.32

Then you’re going to need to make a circle of wire. The wire that I bought was a little bit too flimsy and bent way too easily, so I would recommend trying to get wire that is quite sturdy – it will probably hold its shape for longer too.I had to double up my wire several times, and wrap it quite tightly together in order to create a sturdy crown. If you find this problem as well, try wrapping thin florist tape or fabric around the wire so that it looks a little neater if you’d like.

2015-09-19 16.03.17

This is the fun part – deciding how to lay out the flowers on your crown. I think it’s best to mess around with all sorts of different variations until you find one that you really like – and take photos as you go, so that you have visuals to refer back to. I tried a few different combinations, and I think that I might have to make a few more because I really want to make this one …

2015-09-19 16.36.22

…but I ultimately decided that first I would make this one!

2015-09-19 16.38.32

Now for the attaching of the flowers – probably the most difficult part. With my big flower the stem had wire within it, so I was able to bend the stem to form a flat section that could be wrapped tightly with wire to be attached to the crown. I had thought that the smaller flowers would prove to be more of a problem, but I ended up threading wire through the centre of them and attaching them in this way. Obviously how you attach the flowers depends on the kinds of flowers that you have, so experiment with methods! And make sure that they are attached really solidly so that they wont fall off easily.

2015-09-19 16.39.40

And then, after a lot of binge watching Parks and Rec while stabbing my fingers with sharp bits of wire, I found myself with this!

2015-09-19 16.59.34

If you follow me on Instagram, you might have already had a peek at what this looks like, but I am kind of obsessed with it – I want to wear it all the time!

2015-09-19 17.02.21-1

What do you think? Would you make yourself a flower crown? If you decide to give it a go, please tag me in your photos so that I can see your creations (twitter: @Francesca_Sleet, instagram: @thegirlwhohadwanderlust or use the hashtag #TGWHWfestivals )

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Erin says:

    Your flower crown is so cute! I agree, it’s fun to have ones that no one else will have (though those other ones are just so easy!). I definitely think you should make the first one as well. Flower crowns are pretty over the top anyway, so why not go all out? 🙂

    I thought about making my own last year, but it just didn’t happen for some reason! Probably my lack of places to wear them. Maybe I’ll venture out next summer!

    Erin
    http://sexycardi.blogspot.ca

    Like

    1. Francesca says:

      Thanks! I am definitely going to make the other one as well! It’s definitely worth the effort, maybe you should give it a try 🙂 Thanks for the comment xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

