My Current Design Obsession

So, it’s been a while since I talked design, but I’ve recently become a little bit obsessed with the online shop Superbalist.

It has the most beautiful, affordable, designer clothes, furniture, crockery and everything in between and I might have a little problem. I had to start a wishlist because of how many tabs I had open on my laptop of the things that I needed to get – for reasons, of course.

I was looking over my wishlist the other day and I realised that almost half of it was from one brand – Umbra. They’re a US based brand, and are sold in South Africa through Superbalist and I am kind of obsessed. My favourite range is their Prisma collection, and here’s why.

Screenshot 2015-11-16 19.17.57

source

Look at this photo frame. Just look at it. And don’t even get me started on how it looks from the back…

Screenshot 2015-11-16 19.18.05

source

They are just so incredibly stunning. They make something as simple as a photo frame a statement piece. These photo frames come in all different shapes, sizes and colours so you can pick one that fits your colour scheme or just mix and match. Even though the rational side of my brain is telling me I don’t need 24 of these, there is a large part of me that really feels like I do. Someone send help.

Screenshot 2015-11-16 19.18.41

source

This beautiful jewellery stand (from the same range) is unfortunately sold out at the moment, but I refuse to take it off of my wishlist on the off chance that it might come back into stock. And this is actually a – partially – justified potential purchase, since currently all the jewellery I own is lying in little tangled piles all over my room. Organisation is not my strong point.

Screenshot 2015-11-16 19.18.52

source

Speaking of organisation, this is the most gorgeous scarf/accessory hanger I have ever seen. Maybe I’m overreacting, but I feel like this is needed in my life? I just really love the simple geometric practicality of all of their products.

Screenshot 2015-11-16 19.18.18

source

If you follow me on instagram you’ll probably know my obsession with little plants, and disturbing lack of nice plant pots, so this is actually where my scrolling through Superbalist started – looking for cute plant pots. And these were the first (and best) ones that I found. Unfortunately, these too are currently sold out, but I cannot wait for them to come back in stock because these are so beautiful!

Screenshot 2015-11-16 19.19.04

source

And lastly here are some gorgeous wall/general decor, also from the Prisma range – and even though I know deep down that I don’t really need these in my room – part of me is still convincing me that my student flat next year really does need them.

What do you think?

Screenshot 2015-11-16 19.19.13

Leave a comment