Location, Location, Location

I may have found the most beautiful wine tasting setting.

And I live in Stellenbosch, where literally every wine farm seems more beautiful than the last.

2015-11-22 17.00.13

 There’s always something about wine farms that sets them apart from the others, and this one has the best wine tasting setting I’ve seen in a long time. Hidden away on the Jonkershoek Road is the stunningly beautiful Stark Conde wine farm.

2015-11-22 13.42.42 The wine tasting is a decent price at R30 for five wines, and you can actually get away with trying pretty much all of them if you both try 5 different wines. It’s a predominantly red wine farm, so don’t expect a lot of white wine if that’s your cue of tea. We had such friendly service and some great explanations about the wines, so a shout out to the lovely ladies of the tasting room!

2015-11-22 13.44.15

2015-11-22 13.44.39

I’m not always the biggest red wine drinker, but I’m starting to get there and I really enjoyed the wines at Stark Conde. I was big fan of their Stellenbosch origin red wines, because they were a lot fruitier and smoother than their other wines. I found it very interesting to see the different varietals that they used, as many of them are a little unusual for the area, like petit sirahs – which I actually really enjoyed.

2015-11-22 14.00.30

2015-11-22 14.36.34

I really enjoyed their Lingen, which is a 2013 red blend of Cabernet, Syrah, Petit Verdot and Petite Sirah. I found it to be a very different and unique blend and it was really beautiful, fruity wine. If you find yourself on the farm, definitely give this one a try.

2015-11-22 14.33.32

If you’re after a place to go to, to escape from the city for a little bit this should definitely be on your list. You can grab a bite to eat at the popular Postcard Cafe and drink some more of the beautiful wine and enjoy the incredible view. Stark Conde, I can’t wait to see you again!

2015-11-22 15.15.07

One Comment Add yours

  1. Erin says:

    That looks like such a beautiful spot! It must have been so nice and relaxing to spend your time there. I bet it was like a getaway without having to go as far! Definitely sounds and looks like my kind of place!

    Erin
    http://sexycardi.blogspot.ca

    Like

Leave a comment