Post-Bleach Shampoo – The Hunt Is Over

I’ve finally found the one that does the trick!

If you’ve been here a while you might remember that almost a year ago I decided, on a whim, to bleach my hair. I documented in a post (this post, if you’re interested), and it still remains my all time most visited post – so you guys clearly enjoyed that! I’ve done a few catch ups since then, showing you how I touch up my roots, and also some tips for those of you also living the bleached life.

100_6512

In terms of post-bleach care I have over time settled on a deep conditioner that I love (and one that I talk about way too much probably), the L’Oreal Elvive Total Repair 5 hair masque, but I have struggled to find a shampoo that I feel equally passionate about. As someone with dry curly hair, I don’t use shampoo most of the time to try and limit the amount of natural oils that I strip from my hair, but in terms of keeping those awful yellow tones at bay, I do need a good silver/toning shampoo.

I’ve been through a few, and I’ve had mixed feelings about most of them. The BLEACH silver shampoo was the first one I ever tried, and it was gentle enough to use every day, but it took a while to get results, while the Lee Stafford Bleach Blondes shampoo gave instantly less yellow tones, it was extremely strong and left my hair dry and often purple.

johnfriedashampoo

I think however, I might have just found the perfect balance of the two, in the form of the John Frieda Tone Correcting Shampoo (the conditioner isn’t bad either). It’s not exactly the cheapest thing in the world, but it does last a really long time because you only have to use it (at most) three times a week. It’s easily identifiable, in the typical John Frieda packaging, and its quality is incredible. It doesn’t smell too chemically, and it really does its job without ruining your hair (which is all you want really, isn’t it?).

Because I’m trying to be a little bit more organised and take care of my hair properly (I actually touched up my roots before they got disgusting this week – very proud of myself), I have been using this on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, and can I just say that my hair has never looked (and felt) so good. The colour had evened out so well, so it doesn’t have so many different shades of bleachy yellow anymore, and I am just loving having hair that is actually behaving itself.

Finally!

2015-09-09 12.15.54

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment